(The following short history is taken by Dr. Tika Lamsal from NANC history written by Udim Gurung. Please click here to read NANC history from Udim Gurung.)

The Nepali Association of Northern California (NANC) was officially established in 1994 by a group of Nepali immigrants living in San Francisco Bay Areas. This first Nepali community organization in the Bay Area was formed as a non-political community with a purpose to promote and preserve Nepali cultural traditions, and language among the Nepali diaspora in Northern California. Prior to the formal establishment of NANC, Nepali community in the Bay Areas gathered in small groups and celebrated most of the Nepali festivals, such as Dashain, Tihar, Teej, Buddha Purnima together and tried to create a small home oceans away from their birth land.

In the mid 1980s, population of Nepalese immigrants in the Bay Area was much smaller, less than a score in total, compared to several thousands today, so most of these festivals were celebrated as small family gatherings. Majority of the familiar faces of Nepali community during this time consisted mostly of Gopal Khadgi, Govin Shahi, Kishor Dhital, Sita Dhital, Minu Singh, Udim B. Gurung, Ramesh Lama, Mina Gurung, Shiva Thapa, Anil Pandey, Navin Adhikari, Himal Gurung, YakJung Thapa, Dorje Sherpa, Raj Shahi, Naveen Thapa, Saroj Salike, Rabi Kunwar, and some other friends. Together, they organized and celebrated the first group Dashain party at the Boys and Girls Club in San Francisco in October 1988. This trend continued for a couple more years at the same venue, which was secured for celebration pro bono through the effort of Gopal Khadgi. The following year, in July 1989, Nepali community celebrated Nepalese New Year picnic at the Golden Gate Park, San Francisco. Many Nepalese community members and other local friends gathered for this celebration from as far as Sacramento, Eureka, Monterey, Santa Rosa and San Jose.

In an attempt to organize all Nepalese community members in Northern California, this group began collecting the addresses of Nepalese community and friends, mainly for the purpose of correspondence and interaction among the members. The Dashain celebration and Nepalese New Year picnic were very popular collective events and were highly appreciated by the community members; furthermore, they wished to meet more frequently with other friends and members. With this view in mind, in 1988, Gopal Khadgi along with Govind Shahi, Nabin Adhikari, Saroj Salike, Dorje Sherpa, Raj Shahi, Mohan Sthapit, Yak Jang Thapa, Shashi Shrestha, Ravi Kunwar, Ramesh Lama, Naveen Thapa, Kishor Dhital and Himal Gurung, and many other friends formed the Yak and Yeti Soccer Club in San Francisco. They met every week at the Golden Gate soccer playground, and after the game, they all gathered in Gopal Khadgi’s home on 46th Avenue, San Francisco. The gathering also provided a platform for Nepalese community to share each other’s sorrows, joys and seek help in finding jobs. Many friends, Govind Shahi, Daniel-Tamang, Shrawan Nepal, Ajit Rana, Rajesh Shrestha, Ramesh Lama, Navin Adhikari, Kishor Dhital, Himal Gurung and many others, frequently joined the group to play and also interact amongst one another and help them in need. In 1993, a new interest group emerged to create a formal Nepali Association. Shekhar Sharma, Govind Shahi, Gopal Khadgi, Narendra Gurung, Rattu Lama, Gautam Manandhar, Ishwar Maskey, Kiran Maskey, Dr. Kishor Maskey, Dr. Surendra Pradhan, and many other friends formed an election committee, and Govind Shahi was nominated as a Chairman of the Ad hoc committee. After meeting regularly every weekend, they came to an agreement to name the association the Nepali Association of Northern California (NANC). Then fair democratic election was held on October 15, 1994 along with Dashain party celebration, in Emeryville, CA. The cultural program at this event included music, dance, singing and comedy. The formal logo of NANC was conceptualized and created by Rajesh Maskey. The names of officially elected NANC Executive Board members for tenure of two years since its formal establishment are given in the past executive committee page